top of page

Day 11 - Part 1 short paddle to Pelican Narrows

Captain's log, first couple hours of day 11 paddling to Pelican Narrows:

Day 11 - Bridge at Pelican Narrows

I figured I’d get this in now. I'm almost at the Pelican Narrows Bridge. It was a beautiful three kilometer paddle from our campsite. The lake was mostly calm, a few little ripples but nothing to bother us, some smoke and air but nothing too serious. I sure hope that that goes away in the next couple of days. Anyways, there was a gorgeous shoreline while we were coming in. The bush wasn’t burnt and there was all this beautiful volcanic outcrop.


There was a rocky shoreline and we saw a few eagles and an Osprey. They’re beautiful birds and they were really singing. I was kind of surprised that there were no boots on the water. I thought we might see a few fishing boats coming out early in the morning, but it's Monday morning.


It was really peaceful except we did hear some traffic on the road that comes into Pelican. Oh, and while I was talking a fish just jumped in front of my canoe! Imagine that, fish are jumping, the birds are really singing, and I'm just really looking forward to visiting my friends at Pelican and picking up some supplies. No words can describe just how nice it is out here right now. We'll have to paddle a bit of current underneath the bridge but it shouldn’t be too bad. It doesn't look like there's any rapids so we should just be able to paddle through it without any trouble.

Day 11 - welcome crew at Minnie's

First we are going to see my good friend Minnie Sewap’s house. Most of my line cutters in the bush were her sons so it'll be good to see her. She's a sweet lady.


We'll talk soon.


Over.


bottom of page